Our team

Advisory board

David A. Thomas is the 12th President of Morehouse College. H. Naylor Fitzhugh Professor Emeritus, Harvard Business School. Former Dean of Georgetown McDonough School of Business. Dr. Thomas is an expert in organizational behavior.

Craig Steven Wilder is the Barton L. Weller Professor of History at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Professor Wilder’s most recent book is Ebony & Ivy: Race, Slavery, and the Troubled History of America’s Universities (New York: Bloomsbury, 2013), which Kirkus Reviews named one of the best nonfiction books of the year.

Jonathan Abady is a civil rights lawyer and a partner at Emery Celli Brinckerhoff & Abady LLC. Mr. Abady was on the team of lawyers who helped free Meek Mill, the Roc Nation recording artist wrongfully imprisoned in Philadelphia. Mr. Abady has also litigated significant voting-rights cases in the 2000, 2008, and 2016 elections.

Karthik Balasubramanian is an information systems professor at Howard University School of Business and veteran of numerous political campaigns for the past 12 years. Dr. Balasubramanian leads a talented team of volunteers and organizers as the co-founder and director of BlockPower.

Organizing team

Chelsea Leger has worked and volunteered for campaigns and organizations throughout America and the world since 2012. She is passionate about civic education and engagement, and she’s committed to doing her part in ensuring that all voices are heard and represented.

Solana Patterson-Ramos

Solana Patterson-Ramos is a political activist born and raised in Milwaukee. She has more than 10 years of experience in community outreach focusing on youth, LGBTQ, and civic engagement in the Black Community.

Carolyn McClain Johnson

Carolyn McClain Johnson is a former educator born and raised in the South. She’s a natural organizer with years of experience in education, union, political, and social organizing. With a deep understanding for social injustice, her motto: The Time Is Now! — VOTE!!